Eleven Down, One To Go


Hello, earthlings.

Welcome to the second last ‘Lessons of the Month’ post for 2016.

Honestly, this year has been a doozy of a year. Just a sad, pathetic excuse for a year. And after August, November surely turned out to be the black sheep of all the months.

Thanks, November.

I’m so glad you are finally done.

Honestly, I have made so many bad decisions this month, it is hardly funny. Just one bad choice right after another, despite an entire half of my brain yelling at me to not do this thing, to turn the other way. But did I listen? God, no. And as a result, I had to bear the consequences.

Ah, well. Bad days count for experience, right? And like the wise Colleen Hoover says in her novel Maybe, Someday: you need a couple of bad days to keep the good days in perspective. So, keeping that in mind, let’s recount the top three lessons learnt in the month of November. Ready? Here goes:

* Take time to love yourself. Do not push yourself to the point of destruction; nothing in this world is worth it.

* Never compromise on your integrity, your principles for anything at all.

* Persevere with everything that you are. Do not stop, and do not take shortcuts, because by doing so, you admit that you aren’t good enough.

Lesson #1 is a result of my body shutting down for a solid 72 hours last week when I came home after my last practical exam, then went to a wedding party, and woke up the next day with a sore throat, blocked nose, and a 102 degree fever. It took me three days to be able to stay upright for longer than ten minutes, and four and a half days before I could sit and even attempt to study.

Clearly, my body had had enough. So, you know, do not try this at home.

Lesson #2 and #3 are a culmination of the back-to-back exams that I’ve given this past month alone, which often need all of us to make certain tough choices. Whether or not you follow through with those choices though, is completely your call.

You know, this past year has been the craziest of all, but it has also taught me way more than the twenty before it. It has brought me closer to who I really am, and relieved me almost entirely of my escapist ways, if I may say so myself. We shall deliberate over all the magical happenings of 2016 soon, I promise you, ladies and gentlemen.

For now, I have six exams to give over two weeks, starting December 7, so please excuse me. You already know what you got to do: it’s now or never.

Love,

Snigdha

Leave a Reply

