Deserve Everything


I know, I am fully aware of the fact that I haven’t posted much these past few months except the end-of-the-month posts–and for that, I apologize. But I’m here now, and that’s what matters, right?

So, hi. Firstly, let’s just all take a moment to realize the fact that 2016 is soon going to breathe its last, which is absolutely freaking me out. It’s like every year comes with new and improved speed, and the minute you feel like you have found your groove, oops it’s January 1 again.

Damn, time. Stick to one gear. This isn’t Formula 1, don’t be showing off your racing skills.

Another thing that does not make me too glad is my inability to participate in the National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo for short), thanks to the million exams that November comes with, one right after another. I have just been watching November fly right by for the past two years, while I study and make notes and write exams (and stalk other NaNoWriMo writers over on Instagram & Tumblr). It’s just sad, that’s all there is to it. It is just one of the many things that get sacrificed in the name of ‘hard work’ and ‘future’.

I get it, I really do; I understand that now is the time that you grind and work hard so that your future is secure and fulfilling, but on a day to day basis, it is difficult to continually remind myself of that. But hey, can’t complain, right?

Besides, the more work I put in now, the sooner I can start doing all the things that I truly love doing. Most mornings, when I feel my back hurting, the throbbing in my head so severe that my vision turns blurry, all I can think about is “I am so tired.” But despite what my body tells me, no matter how tired I feel, I know that I am more than that.

You know, of late, I feel like whatever I am doing now is going to have a direct and severe consequence on my future, which worries me and excites me, all the same. Slacking off is clearly not an option, and neither is dishonesty. I wear my pride like a shield, that keeps me from making bad choices, no matter how trivial they may seem. I take what I deserve, and I take only those things that I have worked for. It’s a thin line to walk, but I’ve seen my mother do it all my life, and I want to be just like her.

The point of this post is, if you want something, work hard for it. Do not wait around for someone to just hand it over to you, because success tastes sweeter than everything on this planet combined. To do that, you do not have to be lucky or smart; you just have to be deserving.

Like the wise Avett Brothers say:

nbcover1

I shall see you guys soon with the November lessons. Until then you know what to do: live like it’s now or never.

Love,

Snigdha

Leave a Reply

