Utopia


“In your entire life, you can probably count your true friends on one hand. Maybe even on one finger. Those are the friends you need to cherish, and I wouldn’t trade one of them for a hundred of the other kind. I’d rather be completely alone than with a bunch of people who aren’t real. People who are just passing time.”

— Sarah Ockler

Yeah, yeah, you already know what’s up, don’t you? It’s friendship day, ladies and gentlemen, and for the first ever in the six years this blog has been alive, I’m going to go ahead and share with you my most personal of, well, feelings about the people who have been a part of my life.

You see, since I was maybe four, I knew that I could exist entirely inside my head–which obviously meant social awkwardness for years to come (still working on it, at almost 21), and very few friends. I could maintain genial relations with most people, but there were mostly only a handful whom I allowed too close.

My first friend was Adyasha, in kindergarten. I don’t know where she is right now, despite hours spent trying to locate her on all social networking platforms. She was inhumanly adorable, wore glasses, and bought these insanely good roast potatoes for lunch. On the days that she had the potatoes for lunch, I would beg her to trade lunches with me, and you know what? She did! I can still remember the taste, you know. I have, since then, tried many times to replicate the recipe, but I haven’t quite gotten the exact taste.

Anyway, Adyasha was a great friend, for the two years that she went to my school, before shifting to Hyderabad for good. She was the first one to show me how good company could be. I really hope and pray I can connect with her again.

 

As you can probably tell, my habits haven’t changed much since kindergarten. I still like to spend time alone, still am too damn choosy about who gets to see my vulnerable side. But there are three people who have seen it all: the good, the bad, the ugly, the awesome. You know them, too.

Meet L4W:

(L-R): Srishti, Nanaki, Isha, me.

(L-R): Srishti, Nanaki, Isha, me.

This is our farewell picture from January 2014. School was ending, things were changing at warp speed, everything was just dizzying, to say the least, but we have held on to each other through all of it, and still do. We created LifeFourWays together, a place all of us can return to and find each other. What we have, it cannot be explained like a normal phenomenon, because it is anything but normal, you know? But I’ll try anyway:

L4W meets are always super fun, and filled with rants and great food. Even with all fours of us hardly being able to see each other more than twice a year (thanks, college), we can always pick up where we left off. Time is inconsequential, as far our friendship is concerned.

Here is a little trip down memory lane:

WP_20140709_019

TFIOS date with L4W ❤

IMG-20160727-WA0004

At Starbucks. Credits: Nanaki Singh

L4W has a permanent place on my phone’s home screen (to help me get through the tough times), as well as in my heart. These girls make sucky situations suck a whole lot less, and all that I have to do is pick up the phone, and dial any (or all) of their phone numbers. I honestly do not know where I would have been without Srish, Isha and Nans.

Apart from L4W, ever since college began, many people have came into my life in the past two years. I do realize that everyone enters other people’s lives with the intention of staying, but sometimes, things just don’t pan out that way. I can say this, because I am guilty of this, too. People leave, things change, you live and you learn. I have received way more love than what I’d expected when college started, and I’m grateful for everything. Many, many thanks to everyone who’s been there with me and for me, for however short a time. Special mentions go to: Sagar, Pankaj, Bangtan ARMY, Karan and Ayushi.

A little sneak peek:

IMG-20150915-WA0020

Shivani aka Squirtle. Picture Credits: Jatin

IMG-20160806-WA0009

(L-R): Rahul, me, Garima. Studying for a practical exam.

InstagramCapture_fb3a4ed5-3da7-410a-8443-2d3f4d95a849

Camp ❤

DSC00692

(L-R): Rahul, Sreyoshi, me, Astha, Kirthika, Garima, Shubham. #20thBirthday

Before I leave, I want to dedicate this song to everyone mentioned in this post, which once Nano dedicated to me. Ironically, the song is titled Army.

 

I miss you, I love you, and I thank you for all the memories, everyone.

Happy Friendship Day.

Stick around with the ones that make you feel happy, people. On a planet wrought with evil and despair, friendship is as close to utopia as your world will ever get.

Love,

Snigdha

Leave a Reply

