Dear 15-year-old Me,


Yep, I promised you a post related to life lessons I’ve learnt in my teens, and I’m here to deliver.

The title of this post is borrowed from the following video posted by the team of Being Indian, which is as good as it gets. Go ahead, watch the video, and then continue reading. Here:

Honestly, teenage years can be summed up into a singular word: batshit crazy. Okay, that’s two words, but you get the picture. It is the publically-proclaimed period of time wherein your parents think you are a ticking time bomb, your friends are no help because they’re every bit as confused as you are, and of course, the raging hormones, people. Nothing makes sense, at all.

Consider this my two cents in million dollar jar of advices that all you guys might receive till the day you turn 20 (I can say this because I’ve been there, done that). Okay, ready?

Let’s go:

> For the love of God, don’t feel threatened or scared by anyone.

Bullies and nasty people are like dogs; they can smell fear. What’s worse is that once they get to know that you feel intimidated by their BS, there’s no turning back. On the flip side, these bullies are equally easy to get off of your back: just stop giving them the time of the day, and carry on with your life. Lack of attention knocks the wind out of such people, hits them right in the face. And honestly, the last thing you need to be worried about is someone who is looking for cheap attention.

 

> Don’t let life decide your dreams.

Teenage, unfortunately, also happens to be the time when we have to make some of the most critical choices in life, some of which may also decide our careers as we grow up. But what about your own dreams? I know that life loves to jerk away all our plans in polar opposite directions, but there is always a way around the twisted paths to your dreams, the deepest desire that your heart harbors.

You could be in med school, but still baking delectable stuff and planning to open a bakery someday. Or, like me and some of the people I know, you could be doing your time in engineering college, still striving toward your dream of becoming an author, or a singer. Chasing your dreams gives you superhuman strength and courage to wade through the murkiest of waters, I can vouch for that.

Life doesn’t have to decide your dreams, you know. That’s your own choice, even with all the problems and confusion, it shall always be your call who you really want to be.

Love people unconditionally, but only till you can respect them.

Love is one of the most glorious feelings in the world, but if respect does not precede love, be mentally prepared that the relationship is not going to last long, whatever kind it may be. Respect is what saves relationships when love leaves the building, I’ve experienced. The minute respect fades, however, it’s game over.

I could be wrong, of course, but in the past 20 years, I haven’t met anyone who has proved me wrong, so let’s just go with what I say on this one.

> Travel.

Go for a drive, go to a hill station, go down to the beach, just travel, as and when you can. One of the most important reasons is that travelling often opens your eyes to such varies aspects of life that you wouldn’t normally notice in your regular routine. All through my teens, I have spent more time travelling than I’ve spent in school, I love travelling that much. It didn’t matter who I had for company, if any, so long as I was away from the monotony of everyday life.

 

> Become capable

Develop a hobby, learn new things, and just never stop learning things as they come, because life is long, and it’s always good to have a few skills up your sleeve, and some more. And of course, there’s absolutely nothing that beats the thrill of feeling independent, capable.

You know, teenage is an experience of its own, considering the various highs and lows that it comes with. It’s the first real battle that you face, which in turn prepares you for what lies ahead. And trust me, the minute you’re done with your teens, you already feel like you got life handling down to a science. 😉

Go on, enjoy this time, because hey, you’re a teen only for a certain amount of time. Make as many memories as you can, but don’t lose your mind doing that.

Like I always say, it’s now or never.

Love,

Snigdha

One thought on “Dear 15-year-old Me,

Leave a Reply

