It’s June. Wait, What?


Seriously now, are you telling me it’s already June?

Where did the rest of the year go? We’re like, six months away from another year? Not cool, calendar. You’re not doing your job well.

Well, hello to all the beautiful people who force themselves to read my stupid stuff time and again! 😀 I honestly don’t know what I’d do without you. And therefore, I’m back again (after a long time, I know) to share some things with you about how my summer has been so far. It’s not too scintillating or anything, but neither is my life in general, so please bear with me.

Number one: My senior year (as well as my school life) ended with a (pleasant) bang, when I got my result. I’m kind of proud to tell you that my percentage was a decent 93.5 out of one hundred. Good, right?

Number two: My grandmother (Dad’s mom) broke her femur a few days ago, so Dad’s gone to take care of her, which leaves only me, Mom and my sister at home. Also, we were supposed to be leaving for a holiday on June 9th. But with the recent turn of events, that does seem increasingly unlikely. Although I’m doing everything in my power to keep the holiday plans alive, I don’t really know what will happen. It could go either way, I guess.

Number three: Nano and I have been on full-on planning mode, busy making plans for July (that’s when we’ll truly be free of all the exams). Currently, we have to watch a movie together, and then eat lasagna, FroYo and Mexican food. Now, that’s pretty much the only thing I’m looking forward to. 😉

Number four: I still can’t believe it’s June.

Also, mom and I reached an understanding about my career options. I realized that I’m not the kind of person who would actually get happiness out of doing something that would hurt somebody else, so I fully intend to suck it up and go for engineering. Mom understands now that my heart would always stay in language, and she respects. At least, she’s trying. That’s way more than what I can ask for.

Dad, however, is not. I don’t even know what to make of him and his comments. Let’s just say that my life and future mean very little to him.

Right now, I’m sitting on my couch, and staring hard at the calendar right across from me, trying to believe that it’s summer, and I’m alone at home, begging my friends to Skype with me. It’s been painfully long since I’ve seen any other person beyond my immediate family.

I need to interact with humans more. 😛

 

I’ll get going now. It’s summer, right? Might as well make the most of it.

Meanwhile, you go do what makes you happy. Life’s honest-to-God too short.

It’s summer. The happiest months of your life.

Stay awesome

Love,

Snigdha ❤

4 thoughts on “It’s June. Wait, What?

  1. Oh no!! I have heard that breaking one’s femur is extremely painful. I hope your grandmother has a speedy recovery!

    On a happier note, your talk of lasagna, FroYo, and Mexican food reminds me . . . I went to an Indian restaurant recently and finally had my first taste of some Indian food! 😉 I had a medu vada, aloo methi, veg. pulav, paneer butter masala on steamed rice, naan, vegetable korma on steamed rice, and gulab jamun. Those were the things I liked. There was also a really delicious eggplant dish but they ran out and replaced it with something else before I had a chance to take note of its name. I also tried a few things I did not like, such as beets poriyal, rava laddu, and samiya payasam. The beets were okay so I ate them all, but I didn’t like the other two at ALL so I didn’t bother finishing them. But as a whole, I liked what I tried. I was worried I wouldn’t because I don’t like spicy foods and people always say Indian food is really spicy, but I found that there were plenty of non-spicy dishes for me to enjoy!

    Oh, and it was a buffet. So don’t worry; it sounds like I ate a TON, but I only took a small amount of everything. 😉

    • You liked all the great things, Avra! Naan is my personal favourite. And don’t even get me started on gulab jamun. Try ras malai next. It’s honestly heavenly. 🙂

      And the things you didn’t like: I haven’t heard of them either! I mean, I think they’re South Indian or something, because frankly, this is the first time I’m hearing of them. I live in the northern side, so please excuse my poor knowledge of certain dishes.

      I’m so happy you liked Indian food. It’s not THAT spicy, you know.

      Thanks! 😀

      • I thought gulab jamun tasted like pancakes saturated in syrup. It was so sweet! But delicious. 😉

        I just went on their site and looked up ras malai on their menu, and their recipe has rose water in it, so I’d be very hesitant to try it. I’m not a fan of flowers in my food. 😦

        Yes, they are South Indian dishes! I actually wasn’t sure if you’d know all the dishes, because it is a South Indian place and I think you’re from the Delhi area. The beets poriyal are described as “beets tempered with spices and coconut.” Can’t tell too much from that, but the rava laddu sign was more descriptive: “semolina balls with saffron, cashews, raisins, and cardamom.” I just found all the flavors to be too much. Samiya pasayam is “tin rice noodles cooked in milk and honey, top[ped] with nuts.”

      • I wouldn’t suggest ras malai with rose water either. It takes away all the taste, and makes it smell like roses.
        Yeah, I live in Delhi. I’ve heard of payasam, and seen it at a buffet, but gladly bypassed it. It doesn’t look that interesting. 😛

Leave a Reply

