Being A Writer At 18


“We started dying before the snow.

And like the snow, we continued to fall.”

Hello, everyone who still decides they want to listen to me rant/say stupid stuff/share my life story. Honestly, just yesterday Srish pointed out that out of the 127 followers I have, 32 of them are blog followers, and the rest are Twitter followers. Crazy, right? I mean, I don’t even tweet any more (too much, too fast), but people still find their way here. I guess that’s what matters.

Okay, so back to the point.

You know, if you live in India, and are still under 25 (read without a job that supports you and your family well), being a writer is a very hard job to do. More often than not, people would not urge you to just drop everything and do English Hons, because hey, there’s always the conventional professions to choose from, right? You could be an engineer, a doctor, or maybe even a lawyer. Why would you want to be a writer?

Unless of course, you’re mad.

I mean, hello? What happened to following your dreams, and doing what you want? Times are changing, and they’re changing fast. People, and especially parents, need to acknowledge that fact. Yes, you could pressure your kid all you want to do B. Tech, or MBBS or go to law school, and then push them a little more so that they land a good job. But then what? Then, nothing. Your kid may be floating in millions, and still not be happy.

I know this sounds really philosophical and impractical, but sometimes, you got to go with your heart even if it hurts you. It’s not cool to play it safe all the time. It’s just not.

With all due respect to the parents who I’m sure think best of their children, I would still say that there has to be a moment where you need to loosen up and let your kid find their own way. I mean, although I’m no one to judge (I’m going to do B. Tech too, because my mom wants me to, instead of what I want), but I’m writing this post hoping that someday, somebody like me would be given the choice to follow her dream instead of surrendering to what others want.

Expectations can be a really big burden. But sometimes, they can also be an anchor, what holds you in place. It depends on how you look at it.

So, bottom line: fight for what you want. That’s the least you can do for yourself. Follow your heart, and take your brain with you. Do it for all the right reasons.

Your life is NOW. There’s no point doing anything if you don’t do it on time.

I’ll see you guys soon.

Peace. XOXO

Come say hi here:

Collab Blog:  http://www.lifefourways.wordpress.com

E-mail: snigdha.rai55@gmail.com

3 thoughts on “Being A Writer At 18

  1. You know, when your parents want you to pursue a career other than being a writer, it’s because they care about you, not because they want to crush your dreams. 😉 They just want to make sure you’re comfortable and have what to live on. Most people cannot make it as a writer. I gave up that dream a while ago because I knew it wasn’t going to happen, and now I’m in college majoring in a very practical field. I feel confident knowing that my career choice is one that will always be needed. Now, following dreams is important, and I don’t think you should give up on your dreams if you don’t want to, but I also think it’s wise to cover your bases and learn something practical. So . . . yeah, parents who want their kids to do something practical are not necessarily doing something bad, unless they specifically try to discourage their children from following their dreams in addition to pursuing a practical career.

    • I know they think best of their kids, but honestly, all good and noble intentions of the parents are of no use if the kid doesn’t see it that way. They should, at the very least, explain themselves rather than issuing a decree as far as the child’s career options are concerned.
      And I don’t say this without any relevance. Majority of my ex-classmates and friends who are going through the same phase as me, are going to attend courses and colleges their parents want them to, come August.

      So, although I agree with your point, I think communication in a situation like this is vital. You know how it is. If you’ve got a beautiful story, it’s worthless until you share it with the world.
      #Writer’sReferance 😀

      • I definitely agree that parents need to communicate to their children why they believe their choice is in their children’s best interests. I just ALSO think the kids need to actively try to see this as well, instead of just saying, “oh, my parents don’t want anything for me that I want!” So, yeah, it’s a two-way street.

Leave a Reply

