Scarlet Says Hello! :)


It’s not me talking, it’s Scarlet. She wants to let you know how well it’s been for her, the journey of Yours, Truly from start to finish. Here’s a little part (again) of a story that was supposed to be only a novel, but turned out to be much, much more than that. 🙂

‘You know, querida,’ Jason whispered in my ear, ‘I have something for you.’

I lifted my head from where it had been resting on his shoulder. ‘What is it?’ he slipped a hand in his trouser pocket and pulled out a black satin box. Even though I knew it wasn’t a ring, I couldn’t help but gasp at the sight of the box.

Jason laughed at my surprise, and said, ‘Don’t worry; I’m not going to force you to marry me. Not right now, anyway.’

I wish. Because I couldn’t utter a word, I just rolled my eyes at him, and opened the box. My breath stuck in my throat when I had a glimpse of what the box held inside it.

There lay the most beautiful ocher pendant I’d ever laid my eyes on. It was shaped like a ‘J’, exactly the same color as the heart that hung around my neck.

J for Jason.

‘It’s beautiful, Jason.’ I thanked him in a strangled voice. My throat seemed to have tightened up again. ‘Help me wear it?’

Without a word, he slid the pendant into place, beside my heart pendant around my neck. It sparkled in the lights that were put up in the lawn.

I was thinking of what to say to him—without sounding too mushy and gooey—when Jason said, taking my hand in his, ‘I may not get to see you as often as I like. I may not get to hold you in my arms all through the night. But deep in my heart I truly know, you’re the one that I love, and I can’t let you go. Ever.’

‘Jason . . . I. . .’ I stared up at him. ‘I don’t know what to say.’ How could I? I was absolutely dumbfounded.

Querida’ Jason said, pulling me toward him, ‘let’s dance.’

But I was still too stunned to think of anything else. His words, the ones he’d just said to me, I couldn’t get them out of my mind.

‘You don’t have to say anything at all.’ Jason was saying, his breath warm in my ear. I swayed in his arms, barely registering what he was saying. All I could think was how much I loved him, and by some miracle, he loved me, too.

‘Just a little thing I thought is important for you to know. I just wanted you to know that I’m yours.’ He smiled brilliantly.

‘Truly.’ I completed his sentence, though that wasn’t the correct thing to say. But whatever. It was perfect.

He shook his head. I smiled at him, drunk with happiness, and feeling that my heart might just burst with joy.

‘Hey, Parker! Hastings!’ Liam’s voice distracted both of us. He was standing a few feet away, shaking his hands violently. ‘Come on in, you both! Mr. Nicholas is going to announce the Homecoming Pair!’

I smiled at his excitement, even though everyone knew he and Stacey were going to be crowned tonight. There was absolutely no way anybody else could’ve stood against them. Not even Racquelle in her flimsy dress, not to mention the local car mechanic, Luke, she’d brought as her date.

‘Shall we, ma’am?’ Jason asked me, and I nodded. What else could I do? I could’ve followed him into the extremity of hell if he’d asked me.

‘Sure’. I said, and he caught me by my waist, and shouted to Liam, ‘You go in, McCall. We’re coming.’

Liam went away after giving us a hopeless look. He too, was wearing the same grateful smile each one of us, especially me, had glued to their faces—grateful for all the joy we had received after the days of dread.

‘I really think we should get going before he comes back. I don’t want Stacey to know just yet how big an idiot he is.’ Jason joked as we walked slowly along the brick path we’d come through.

‘I do, too.’ I smiled at him, feeling something plop inside me when I looked into the light-brown eyes of his. Like a bubble bursting, I think. A bubble of sheer happiness, love, and promise of a better future. It was completely impossible not to cry at a moment like this, so I guess the tears that had gathered beneath my eyelids weren’t that big a problem.

Wiping them away with a finger, Jason stooped down to kiss me, and said, ‘I’m not going away, Scarlet.’ He pulled me closer to him. ‘And neither are you.’

Of course, I couldn’t say anything to him after that, because I knew that even if I tried to speak, I wouldn’t be able to. The intoxicated aren’t the world’s most sober speakers, you know, and drunk as I was with absolute joy, I knew I wasn’t in any better condition.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

 This is a bit of the last chapter of the book, and every time I read this bit, it brings tears of happiness and big, goofy grin to my face. 🙂 Kind of makes you want to believe in fairy tales, doesn’t it? 😉

Well, let me know what you think. You know I’ll be waiting.

Peace.

Leave a Reply

