The Girl With The Red Fingers


No, no, I’m not writing another book (kind of got you there, eh?)–I managed to cut the index and the middle finger of my right hand last night while I was grating carrots for dessert, and those two fingers have been pretty red since then (hence, the title).

In India, there’s this really popular dessert called as ‘Gajar ka halwa’–A type of dense, sweet confections that is slightly gelatinous and made from grain flour. Sort of like a carrot pudding, minus the fruits. We generally replace them with dry fruits.

It is just, well, heavenly. If you haven’t eaten it yet, please do make sure you do as soon as possible. The halwa is one of the most widely prepared and served dishes in Asia, and in parts of Africa and Europe. For those who haven’t even seen it, it looks like this:

This is what I had for dessert last night, so yes, you can get jealous if you wish. Like I said, with nothing much to do except sit in front of the television and watch Supernatural, I’ve taken up cooking as a hobby. I even went to the supermarket today to stock up the kitchen with mustard sauce, white vinegar and the like to do some more of it. Cooking, I mean.

A little piece of update: I’m going on a mini-vacation to Shillong (the Scotland of India) in the first week of April, hence you won’t be hearing from me from April 1st to the 6th. Just if you begin to think I’m dead or something, please make sure that’s not the case 😉 I’ll probably be enjoying a steaming cup of coffee up in the hills at that moment! 🙂

Oh, yes, speaking of enjoyment — Supernatural has a new tag line which I caught on the TV a few days back. Something like this:

Scary just got sexy 😉

I don’t think I can agree more. These two men take grandeur to a whole new level, which is totally amazing. I’m sure in some part of the world, being so stunning is definitely illegal. 😀

I have to sleep, and read more of ‘When Lightening Strikes’ ( novel by Meg Cabot) now. Have I mentioned it is actually one o’clock at night here? I guess not. See what I told you about entering full-blown catatonia? 😉

Catch you later, people.

Peace. ❤

4 thoughts on “The Girl With The Red Fingers

      • I don’t have cardamom . . . maybe I can substitute cinnamon. Cinnamon works well with carrots! And I don’t have pistachios, but those are just garnish so I can leave them out. And I’d use dried cranberries instead of raisins. Am I butchering this recipe too much?

        Then again, I don’t know if I’d ever have the patience to make it anyway seeing as it needs to be cooked for an hour. 😉

Leave a Reply

