Truly, ‘A Walk To Remember’. . . .


Life doesn’t stop. It doesn’t offer second chances. Once you make a mistake, you cannot undo it. You have to live with all the mistakes you did, all the bad decisions you took.. . .. . . . And believe me, sometimes, they teach you invaluable lessons that otherwise would remain completely foreign to us. . . .

Last December, I bought ‘A Walk To Remember’ by Nicholas Sparks, just because I wanted something to read. I didn’t have any conscious plans to read it, but that day, I just picked it up. Well, at least that was what I thought that day.

I was halfway through the book by the afternoon, enjoying the humor and light- hearted prose, but as the story gradually progressed, I realized the true meaning of the storyline.

The main protagonist, Landon Carter, has to let go of Jamie Sullivan, his wife and his only love, owing to leukemia. He ends the book, saying that he still loves her, and no matter how much time goes by, or how many lonely years he has to live for, he will never stop loving Jamie, her angel.

I had tears in my eyes by the time I was finished with it, and at the same time, a huge smile spread across my face. The tears were because I felt sorry for Landon’s fate, and the smile was glued to my face because he still knew that Jamie was an inseparable part of his life.

The book was good, no doubt about that. But what I liked the most were the descriptions: of places, people, architecture and what not. The way Nicholas Sparks frames his words is impeccable. ‘A Walk To Remember’ is truly something that is correct in its own resonance. It speaks about love, life and the magic that is created when these two come together.

Until next time, I leave you with this quote I picked up from the book:

“Our love is like the wind. I don’t see it, but I feel it….”

              – Landon Carter

Leave a Reply

